Who We Are

A corps of innovative leaders is needed to turn the tide in the Delta region and help it to compete in the global economy. The Delta Leadership Institute is designed to improve the decisions made by community leaders across the region by strengthening leadership capacity and mutual understanding of regional, state, and local cultures and issues as well as connecting these leaders to a network that increases regional collaboration, information sharing, and continuing education.

The Delta Leadership Institute organizes the Delta Leadership Institute Executive Academy, a year-long leadership development program for regional leaders that prepares them to collaborate and address the most-pressing issues of the Delta region. Each of the eight governors and the federal co-chairman nominate community leaders for the program, resulting in an annual class of 50 Delta leaders. Upon graduation the leadership fellows join the Delta Leadership Network, which supports DLI's more than 500 alumni with continued education, engagement, and information sharing through state and regional networks. 

The leadership fellows of the Executive Academy as well as the alumni represent a cross-sector, diverse group of community leaders.

Meet the 2017-18 Executive Academy class

The Delta Leadership Institute is directed by the Delta Regional Authority and relies on administrative, programming, and curricular support from a consortium of three university partners: The University of Alabama College of Continuing Studies, Arkansas State University Delta Center for Economic Development, and the University of Louisiana Monroe.

Spencer Lucker

Director
Delta Leadership Institute

(202) 434-4871 
slucker@dra.gov

Sea Talantis, CMP

Program Manager
UA College of Continuing Studies

stalantis@ccs.ua.edu

Lauren Lewis

Conference Support Assistant
UA College of Continuing Studies

lalewis4@ccs.ua.edu

Shawnie Carrier

Executive Director
A-State Delta Center

shawniecarrier@astate.edu

Andrea Allen

Deputy Director
A-State Delta Center

anallen@astate.edu

Frankie Gilliam, CEcD

Community/Economic Development Specialist
A-State Delta Center

fgilliam@astate.edu

Dr. John Sutherlin

Executive Director
University of Louisiana Monroe

sutherlin@ulm.edu

Dr. Leigh Hersey

Assistant Professor
University of Louisiana Monroe

hersey@ulm.edu

Chelbi Johnson

Graduate Student
University of Louisiana Monroe

johnsoc2@warhawks.ulm.edu